City of Belfast Aquasprint team began 2018 with a superb win away to Larne on Friday evening. This was a great victory over one of the premier clubs in Ireland. COB fielded a strong, but relatively inexperienced team. It was particularly pleasing to see the outstanding performances of our Aquasprint debutants, who included Rory Kane, Cillian Cranney, Jessica McCartan, Alex McMahon, Claire McMahon, Eva Wilson, Alexander Hale, Alex Watson and Callum Godfrey. 
The evening’s racing began with the medley relays, after which Larne held a slender lead. The COB swimmers proved to be stiff competition for their illustrious opponents in the individual events, and at the halfway stage, following the Breaststroke swims, Larne lead by a minimum amount. However, in both the Butterfly and Front-crawl events COB swimmers began to edge in front. The Freestyle relays were extremely fast and furious, and had the watching crowd on their feet, as COB edged home in 3 of the 4 races, amid great excitement .
All our young swimmers should be very proud of their efforts. But special mention must go to our outstanding Group B swimmers, Amber Holmes, Amy Cummings Bell, Chloe Young, Kate Kane, Maeve Whelan, Alexander Hale and Jack Heatherington who dominated their age group.
Well done to all, and keep up the training.
Many thanks to Larne SC for hosting a great gala, with wonderful hospitality. Thanks also to Neasa Murnaghan for all her hard work as COB Aquasprint Coordinator. Thanks to all our parents, firstly for making the journey to Larne on a busy Friday evening, and also for their very efficient officiating at the gala.
 Special thanks to Coach Stephen McKay for his outstanding leadership, and  Assistant Coach Fionuala Murtagh for providing invaluable assistance to Stephen and the kids.
One final mention to our new 2018 Aquasprint Captains Toby Thompson and Zoe Martin who lead by example throughout the evening.


Here’s a photo of the winning team (with the mascot in tow, courtesy of Jane and Kate Kane!), and the very proud team’s captains Zoe and Toby.


© 2013 Church Theme | Made with love.
Follow us: